Louisiana Car Insurance

Louisiana Car Insurance

In the state of Louisiana, most vehicles must carry liability insurance. All motor vehicles in use on Louisiana roadways must present valid insurance upon request. To ensure coverage of your car, a local professional independent Louisiana car insurance agent is ready to educate you of Louisiana laws and regulations as well as craft a personal policy to keep you protected.

Teenage drivers represent the largest percentage of car crashes in Louisiana. The state has its own version of Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and every teen under the age of 17 must pass all phases of it to obtain a driver’s license. While the process is lengthy, it is the law. Also, having car insurance is the law, too. Your local independent agent can answer your tough questions about teenage drivers and provide a policy that best suits you and your family.

Distracted driving is inevitable. It is against the law in the state of Louisiana to use any type of mobile communication device while driving. If caught, you will have to pay a fine that isn’t very friendly — or worse, commit a car crash where the fines will double or cause fatality in the worst case. Whatever the case, it is happening all around you. Your best bet to stay protected is by contacting a local professional independent car insurance agent to cover your needs should something happen on the roads involving distracted drivers.

Louisiana is prone to numerous natural disasters like hurricanes and floods due to its geographical location, and has recently been hit by several large hurricanes in recent memory. Hurricane Katrina was the largest which was a category three hurricane when it hit land in 2005. We all know how disastrous it was, but by being covered by a local car insurance agent everything will be calm like before a major storm.

Key Statistics according the Insurance Information Institute and the National Highway Safety Administration:

Uninsured Motorists

Nationwide: 12.6% (2012)

Louisiana: 13.9% ((2012)

Insurance Coverage Requirements:

Bodily Injury Liability

Property Damage Liability

Motorists are required to carry a minimum of $30,000 for all persons injured in an accident, with a maximum of $15,000 per person. They are also required to carry $25,000 for property damage. If you’ve had a major medical experience lately, or know someone who has spent several days in a hospital you probably realize how low these limits are compared to the reality of hospital care costs. A more common limit for Louisiana drivers is $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident bodily injury and $100,000 per accident property damage. Many consider an umbrella with an additional $1,000,000 in limits available. Considering the chain reaction accidents that occur on Louisiana roads it would seem prudent to have higher limits of auto insurance protection.

Average Car Insurance Premium

The Insurance Institute uses an “average person” to establish an average rate for an average car. This figure is only good for comparison as so many factors go into establishing an auto rate.

National Average Cost Per Year: $841 (2013)

Louisiana Cost Per Year: $1,146* (2013)

Crash Statistics

Fatalities: 737 (2014)

Alcohol Impaired Driver Fatalities: 253 (2014)

Fatalities per 100 million miles driven (LA): .1.47* (2013)

Fatalities per 100 million miles driven (Nationwide): 1.09 (2013)

*Note that the high rate of fatalities per mile driven is reflected in a higher than average auto premium.

Learn more about New Orleans>

Learn more about Baton Rouge>

Learn more about Shreveport>

Learn more about Metaire>

Learn more about Lafayette>

Other Enhanced Insurance articles related to car care and purchasing:

How to Haggle for a Used Car

What Is the Cheapest or Least Expensive Used Car to Own

Buyer’s Remorse Law

When Is the Best Time to Buy a New Car

5 Cars with Great Lumbar Support

Best Used Cars Under $5000

What’s the Best Car Insurance for Younger Drivers

Car Insurance for Your Yugo

What Vehicles Are Considered to be More Insurance Friendly

Trade-In Value of My Vehicle

Best Cars for Snow

Top Ten Private Passenger Auto Insurance Companies

States with the Worst Drivers?

What Is Highway Hypnosis?

Enhanced Insurance is not written by attorneys. If you’re looking for legal advice, you need to contact a lawyer. Further, insurance practices and forms change constantly and are varied from state to state. For definitive answers in your area, contact a local agent.